Skip to content
Group statement | 1 April 2016

ELN Members Support Nuclear Security Summit Call to Action

Over 40 European Leadership Network members have signed a call to action urging heads of state to continue the important steps in preventing nuclear terrorism beyond the Nuclear Security Summit.

The Summit has over 50 heads of state meeting to discuss the work needed to protect, secure and reduce the quantity of dangerous nuclear materials. This will be the last Nuclear Materials Summit, but the work to secure weapons-usable nuclear materials from around the world is not complete.

ELN members join former U.S. Secretary of State George Shultz, former U.S. Defense Secretary Bill Perry, and former U.S. Secretary of State Henry Kissinger in a call for global leaders to ensure that this urgent work continues beyond the Summit.

Initiated by the Nuclear Threat Initiative, the statement also calls for the United States and Russia—which hold the vast majority of the world’s nuclear materials—to demonstrate leadership on this issue.


ELN signatories include the following:

  1. Massimo D’Alema, former Prime Minister, Italy
  2. Ruud Lubbers, former Prime Minister, the Netherlands
  3. Gro Brundtland, former Prime Minister, Norway
  4. Kjell Magne Bondevik, former Prime Minister, Norway
  5. George Robertson, former NATO Secretary General, United Kingdom
  6. Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, former Secretary General of NATO, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
  7. Margaret Beckett MP, member of Parliament, Chair of the Top Level Group and former Foreign Secretary, United Kingdom
  8. Malcolm Rifkind, former Defence and Foreign Secretary, United Kingdom
  9. Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman, Munich Security Conference, Germany
  10. Igor Ivanov, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Russia
  11. Des Browne, Chair of the ELN and former Defence Secretary, United Kingdom
  12. Vyacheslav Trubnikov, former Ambassador, Russia
  13. Paul Quilès, former Defence Minister and former President of the Defence and Armed Forces Committee of the National Assembly, France
  14. Rudolf Scharping, former Defence Minister, Germany
  15. Adam Daniel Rotfeld, former Foreign Minister, former Director of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), Poland
  16. Hikmet Çetin, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Turkey
  17. Soren Gade, Member of Parliament and former Defence Minister, Denmark
  18. Alan West, former First Sea Lord and member of the House of Lords, United Kingdom
  19. Hans Blix, former Director General of the International Atomic Energy, Sweden
  20. Shirley Williams, former Leader of the Liberal Democrats in the House of Lords, United Kingdom
  21. David Richards, former Chief of the Defence Staff, member of the House of Lords, United Kingdom
  22. John Stanley, former Minister of the Armed Force and former Chairman of the House of Commons Committees on Arms Export Controls, United Kingdom
  23. David McAllister, Member of the European Parliament
  24. John McColl, former NATO Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Europe, United Kingdom
  25. Giancarlo Aragona, former Secretary General of OSCE, Ambassador to London and Moscow and Italian representative to the Albright Group for the drafting of NATO’s “New Strategic Concept”, Italy
  26. Margherita Boniver, current member of Parliament and former Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, Italy
  27. Balázs Csuday, Current Permanent Representative of Hungary to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Vienna, Hungary
  28. Vladimir Dvorkin, Retired Major-General, Russia
  29. Rolf Ekeus, former Ambassador to the United States and to the Conference on Disarmament and former Director of the United Nations Special Commission on Iraq, Sweden
  30. Vahit Erdem, Ambassador, former head of the Turkish Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and former Secretary General of the Grand National Assembly, Turkey
  31. Stephen Gethins, Scottish National Party MP for North East Fife, United Kingdom
  32. Anatoliy Grytsenko, current member of Parliament, former Chairman of National Security and Defence Committee, former Defence Minister, Ukraine
  33. David Hannay, former Ambassador to the EU and to the UN, United Kingdom
  34. Tedo Japaridze, Member of Parliament and Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee and former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Georgia
  35. Jan Kavan, former Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, Czech Republic
  36. Katja Keul, member of the German Bundestag, former member of the Defence Committee, Germany
  37. Pierre Lellouche, former French Minister, Deputy of Paris, Les Republicains Spokesman for Foreign Affairs, France
  38. Fatmir Mediu, former Defence Minister, Albania
  39. Ioan Pascu, current MEP and Vice President of the European Parliament, former Secretary of State for Defence Policy, Romania
  40. Solomon Passy, former Foreign Minister, Bulgaria
  41. Konstantin Samofalov, Member of the Parliament, Member of the Defense and Security Committee,Serbia
  42. Stefano Silvestri, President of the International Affairs Institute of Italy, consultant for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministries of Defence and Industry, Italy
  43. Ivo Šlaus, former member of Parliament and member of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Croatia
  44. Raimo Väyrynen, former Director at Finnish Institute of International Affairs, Finland
  45. Klaus Wittmann, former Bundeswehr general, Senior Fellow Aspen Institute, Germany
  46. Elisabeth Rehn, former Defence Minister, Finland
  47. Todor Tagarev, Head, “IT for Security” Department & Centre for Security and Defence Management IICT at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
  48. Tarja Cronberg, former Member of the European Parliament, Distinguished Associate Fellow at SIPRI,Finland
  49. Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, former Foreign Minister, Denmark


 A complete list of signatories is available here.

 To add your name to the list of signatories, go to