Skip to content
Event | 27 May 2015

ELN hosts NATO Public Diplomacy event

The European Leadership Network, in conjunction with NATO and the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office, hosted a high-level private meeting to discuss NATO-Russia relations. The participants, senior political and military figures from across the Alliance, discussed the policy options for NATO in the context of the ongoing crisis in Ukraine.

“Brinkmanship, Deterrence and De-escalation between NATO and Russia”

1. Ambassador Giancarlo Aragona, President of International Political Studies (ISPI), former Ambassador to London, former Secretary General of OSCE, Italy
2. Jillian Battersby, Head of Deterrence and Defence Strategy, Security Policy Department, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
3. Dr. Davor Božinović, former Minister of Defence, member of parliament, Croatia
4. Ambassador Tomasz Chłoń, Plenipotentiary for Preparing the 2016 NATO Summit, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Poland
5. Commander Andy Corbett, Military Assistant to Director General of the NATO International Military Staff
6. Svein Efjestad, Policy Director, Ministry of Defense, Norway
7. Air Marshal Sir Christopher Harper, Director General of the NATO International Military Staff
8. Richard Hilder, Desk Officer – NATO-Russia and defence investment, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
9. Tedo Japaridze, Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee, Parliament of Georgia, former Deputy Foreign Minister, Georgia
10. Peter Jones, Director Defence & International Security, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
11. Dr. Ian Kearns, Co-founder and Director, European Leadership Network, United Kingdom
12. Timo Koster, Director Defence Policy and Capabilities Directorate, NATO
13. Lukasz Kulesa, Research Director, European Leadership Network, Poland
14. Professor Roman Kuzniar, Foreign Policy Advisor to the President of Poland, Poland
15. Giorgio La Malfa, Member of Parliament, former Minister for European Affairs, Italy
16. Osman Faruk Loğoğlu, Member of Parliament, former Turkish Ambassador to the United States, Turkey
17. Professor Janos Martonyi, former Foreign Minister, Hungary
18. Ross Matthews, Head of NATO and Conventional Arms Control Team, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
19. Tom McKane, former Director General for Strategy and Security Policy, Ministry of Defence, United Kingdom
20. Francis Milton, NATO European Policy Officer, the Ministry of Defence, United Kingdom
21. Ambassador Renatas Norkus, Director of Transatlantic Cooperation & Security Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Lithuania
22. Sarah Nurton, Research Analyst, Eastern Research Group, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
23. Jacob Parakilas, Assistant Project Director for the US Project, Chatham House, United States
24. Ioan Mircea Paşcu, Member of the European Parliament, former Minister of Defence, Romania
25. Ambassador Steven Pifer, Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution’s Center on the United States and Europe, Director of Brookings’ Arms Control Initiative, former United States Ambassador to Ukraine, United States
26. The Rt Hon. the Lord Robertson of Port Ellen KT, former NATO Secretary General, former Secretary of State for Defence, United Kingdom
27. The Rt Hon. Sir John Stanley, former Minister of State for Defence, United Kingdom
28. Ambassador Pierre Vimont, former Executive Secretary-General of the European External Action Service (EEAS), France
29. The Rt Hon. Lord Wallace of Saltaire, former Spokesperson for the Cabinet Office in the House of Lords and former Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Defence and Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, United Kingdom
30. Ted Whiteside, NATO Assistant Secretary General for Public Diplomacy
31. Dr. Klaus Wittmann, Brigadier General (ret.) in the Bundeswehr, former director of academic planning and policy at the NATO Defence College in Rome, Senior Fellow Aspen Institute, Germany
32. Shata Shetty, Deputy Director, European Leadership Network
33. Denitsa Raynova, Research Associate, European Leadership Network
34. Joseph Dobbs, Research Fellow, European Leadership Network